Engineering & Science

Engineering & Science Databases

Off-campus/Wireless Access.
Databases open in new tab. Databases marked with an * are publicly available.

Systematic downloading of content is not allowed, including by software, e.g. website crawlers, harvesters and offline browsers. 

  • AccessScience
    The McGraw Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology on the web, provides full access to articles, dictionary terms, and hundreds of research updates in all areas of science and technology.
  • ACD/Labs Online
    An Internet-based service for instant access to chemical databases and prediction programs.

    • Download ChemSketch-10
      A popular and comprehensive chemical drawing package for chemical structures, reactions, schematic diagrams and it is integrated with other ACD applications.
  • ACM Digital Library
    Full text of journal articles, conference proceedings, and reviews published by the Association for Computing Machinery.
  • ACS Publications
    Full text of journals of the American Chemical Society
  • Alternative Energy eTrack Use this database? We need your input.
    Research and business news, company and industry analysis, forecasts and market intelligence data for alternative energy technologies, including wind, hydro, solar, ocean, geothermal, biofuels, fuel cells. Global coverage. Downloading or exporting information is not permitted.
  • Aluminum Industry Abstracts
    Technical literature on aluminum, production processes, products, applications, and business developments.
  • American Chemical Society. See ACS Publications.
  • American Journal of Science (1818-1895) (Carnegie Mellon) *
    Started in 1818 it is the oldest scientific journal published continuously in the United States and is an important source for seminal American scientific peer reviewed journal articles in the field of earth sciences that publish new content.
  • Annual Reviews
    Each year volumes are published in about 30 focused disciplines within the biological, medical, physical, and social sciences. They are thorough and timely collections of critical reviews written by leading scientists and academicians.
  • Applied Science & Business Periodicals Retropective (1913-1983)
    Citations with links to full text of business, industry, science and technology magazines 1913-1983.
  • Applied Science and Technology Abstracts
    Abstracts covers core English-language scientific and technical publications.
  • Aquatic Science & Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA) 3: Aquatic Pollution & Environmental Quality
    Provides citations and abstracts to the literature of the environmental sciences in the prevention and control of aquatic pollution.
  • arXiv.org *
    Abstracts covers core English-language scientific and technical publications.
  • ASCE Library
    ASCE Library can be used for locating articles of interest across all disciplines of civil engineering with access to more than 40,000 full text papers from ASCE Journals and Proceedings.
  • ASM Alloy Phase Diagrams Center
    The ASM Alloy Phase Diagrams Center allows CMU users to explore, search and view more than 28,000 binary and ternary phase diagrams and associated phase data for more than 6200 systems from their Web browsers.
  • ASM Handbooks Online
    Metals and materials volumes that can be searched simultaneously; comprehensive, practical, and reliable source of technical knowledge and engineering data.
  • Association for Computing Machinery. See ACM Digital Library.
  • ASTM Digital Library
    The ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library is a vast collection of industry-leading standards and technical engineering information in a broad range of engineering disciplines.
  • Bacteriology Abstracts (Microbiology B)
    Provides researchers and clinicians with up to date information on bacteriology.
  • Biotechnology and Bioengineering Abstracts
    Covers applications, regulatory developments and new patents across all areas of biotechnology and bioengineering, including medical, pharmaceutical, agricultural, environmental and marine biology.
  • Biotechnology Research Abstracts
    Provides citations and abstracts to the literature of the environmental sciences in the biotechnology areas of medical, agricultural, and bioengineering.
  • BuildingGreen Suite
    Provides articles, reviews, and news from Environmental Building News (EBN) since 1992, product listings from the GreenSpec products directory, and project case studies from the High-Performance Buildings Database.
  • Cambridge Journals Online
    Selected full text Cambridge journals online.
  • Cambridge Structural Database
    Provides access to the world’s repository of small molecule crystal structures. It also gives comprehensive and retrospective coverage of the published literature.
  • Ceramic Abstracts
    International coverage on the manufacture, processing, applications, properties and testing of traditional and advanced ceramics.
  • Chemical Abstracts. See SciFinder.
  • Chemoreception Abstracts
    Contains studies from many diverse disciplines related to chemoreception.
  • Colour Index International
    A definitive guide for anyone who needs to know details of which companies manufacture and distribute dyes and pigments, or for anyone looking for technical details of these products.
  • Compendex. In Engineering Village.
    The most comprehensive bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research available, covering all engineering disciplines.
  • Conference Papers Index
    Provides citations to papers and poster sessions presented at major scientific meetings around the world in the life sciences, environmental and aquatic sciences from 1995 with older material in physics, engineering and materials science.
  • Copper Tehcnical Reference Library
    Data on the properties and performance of copper and copper alloys and on applications of the copper metals.
  • Corrosion Abstracts
    Corrosion science and engineering resource for solving corrosion problems by reviewing the documented experience of others.
  • CRC Handbook of Chemistry & Physics. See Handbook of Chemistry & Physics.
  • COS: Community of Science. See Pivot.
  • Dissertations & Theses
    Dissertations and theses from around the world, from 1861 to the present, with full text for most added since 1997.
  • Ecology Abstracts
    Provides citations and abstracts to the literature of the environmental sciences in aquatic ecosystems, terrestrial ecosystems, and bioengineering.
  • Encyclopedia of Earth *
    An expert-reviewed collection of articles written by scholars about the Earth, its natural environments, and their interaction with society.
  • Encyclopedia of Materials: Science and Technology
    Articles focus on functional phenomena, structural phenomena, fundamental core theory, structural materials, polymers and materials chemistry, functional materials.
  • Encyclopedia of Medical Devices and Instrumentation
    Describes the branches of medicine and how technology assists each of them concentrating on what is currently useful or is likely to be useful in future.
  • Encyclopedia of Physical Science and Technology
    Compendium of articles on chemistry, molecular biology, mathematics, and engineering.
  • Encyclopedia of Polymer Science and Technology
    Research articles on polymers, plastics, fibers, biomaterials, elastomers, and polymerization processes.
  • Engineered Materials Abstracts
    Citations regard the research, manufacturing practices, properties and applications of polymers, ceramics, and composites.
  • Engineering Village
    Engineering Village is the information discovery platform of choice for the engineering community. In a single interface, researchers get access to today’s most important engineering content. Search both Compendex and Inspec here.
  • Environment & Energy Publishing (E&E)
    E&E is the leading source for comprehensive, daily coverage of environmental and energy policy and markets with five daily online publications are considered “must-reads” by people who track and influence energy, environmental and climate policy.
  • Environmental Engineering Abstracts
    Provides citations and abstracts to articles on air and water quality, environmental safety, and energy production.
  • Environmental Impact Statements: Digests
    Access to the hundreds of environmental impact statements issued each year by the federal government. Entries include a clear description of the project, sections on positive impact and negative consequences and legal mandates.
  • Environmental Science & Pollution Management
    This multidisciplinary database, provides comprehensive coverage of the environmental sciences. Abstracts and citations are drawn from over 10,000 serials including scientific journals, conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications.
  • Expertise. In COS: Community of Science.
    A knowledge management system for individuals and institutions, containing more than 480,000 profiles of researchers from over 1,600 institutions worldwide.
  • Frost & Sullivan
    Market reports and analysis on emerging technologies in a wide range of industries. NOTE: for academic use – reports are read-only.
  • Funding Opportunities. In COS: Community of Science.
    Database of available grants, fellowships, prizes and other type of funding. Sponsors come from the public and private sector, including local, state and national governments, foundations and societies, and corporations.
  • Genetics Abstracts
    A comprehensive coverage of the genetics field, including developmental, evolutionary, ecological and molecular genetics.
  • Handbook of Chemistry & Physics
    Full text access to physical constants for over 12000 of the most common chemical substances and many facts about the physical sciences.
  • Health & Safety Sciences Abstracts
    Provides citations and abstracts to articles in environmental health, occupational safety, pesticides, toxicology, emergency management, security, and accidents.
  • Homeland Security Digital Library
    Collection of documents related to Homeland Security from variety of sources including federal, state and local agencies.
  • Human Genome Abstracts
    A comprehensive source for developments and promising applications emerging from international genome research, including the massive Human Genome Project.
  • INCITES
    InCites is a customized, citation-based research evaluation tool on the Web that enables you to analyze institutional productivity and benchmark your output against peers worldwide.
  • IEEE Xplore
    Full text of all IEEE journals and conference proceedings published since 1988. Also includes all current IEEE standards. Some titles available pre-1988.
  • Industrial and Applied Microbiology Abstracts (Microbiology A)
    Provides citations and abstracts to articles in food microbiology, microbial resistance, and fermentation.
  • INFORMS PubsOnLine
    Data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences.
  • INSPEC. In Engineering Village.
    Premier citation database for physics, electrical engineering, computer science, control engineering, communications, and manufacturing/production engineering. Links to full text when available. Coverage: 1886-present.
  • IoP Science
    Institute of Physics journals access with a personalizable interface laden with Web 2.0 tools.
  • ISI Web of Knowledge. See Web of Science.
  • Journal Citation Reports
    Search and view the full text contents and bibliographic information of patents. TIFF images are available for all United States patents from 1790 to the present.
  • JoVE
    The Journal of Visualized Experiments, is the world’s first peer reviewed scientific video journal.
  • JSTOR
    Academic journals in all subject areas, does not include latest 5 years.
  • Kanade Collection. See Envisioning Robotics.
  • Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology
    Descriptions of chemical substances, including their properties, manufacturing, and uses fundamental to industrial processes and unit operations in chemical engineering.
  • Knovel: Answers for Science and Engineering
    Full text interactive reference books and information resources from some of the leading science and engineering reference handbooks, databases, and conference proceedings.
  • Lecture Notes in Computer Science
    Full text of conference proceedings in computer science from Springer. About 100 conferences published per year.
  • Lecture Notes in Control and Information Sciences
    Full text of conference proceedings in control and information science from Springer.
  • Lecture Notes in Mathematics
    Full text of conference proceedings in mathematics from Springer.
  • Lecture Notes in Physics
    Full text of conference proceedings in physics from Springer.
  • LexisNexis Academic
    News, law and business information.
  • LexisNexis Statistical. See Proquest Statistical Insight.
    Index to thousands of statistical publications on all topics;data either online or on microfiche in Hunt Library.
  • MADCAD
    Online access to International (ICC) building codes, related standards from ASHRAE, ASTM, NFPA, etc., USGBC LEED Reference Guides and Study Guides, and Wiley’s Architectural Graphic Standards.
  • Marks’ Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers
    A fully updated handbook reflecting current industry standards and practices to more than 100 essential mechanical engineering topics.
  • Materials Business File
    Articles on industry news, product and process developments.
  • Materials Research Database with METADEX
    Literature on metallurgy, ceramics, polymers, and composites use in engineering applications.
  • Materials Research Society. See MRS Online Proceedings.
  • MathSciNet
    Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications from 1940 – present in an online database with links to full text (when available).
  • MEDLINE. In FirstSearch.
    Description under MEDLINE (PubMed). FirstSearch interface provides ability to search other select databases with MEDLINE–click on “Databases” tab.
  • MEDLINE. In PubMed. *
    Freely accessible online database of biomedical journal citations and abstracts created by the U.S. National Library of Medicine.
  • METADEX
    Comprehensive source on metals and alloys: their properties, manufacturing, applications, and development.
  • MIT CogNet
    Articles on industry news, product and process developments.
  • MRS Online Proceedings
    Materials Research Society electronic papers.
  • Newell Collection (Carnegie Mellon) *
    Full text archive of Allen Newell’s pioneering work in artificial intelligence and cognitive science. Newell earned a reputation as one of the founders of artificial intelligence.
  • NTIS. In Engineering Village.
    Describes government technical reports from the U.S. and other countries. Good for locating reports that one should be able to obtain for free from NASA, DOD, DOE, EPA and other agencies.
  • OECD Library
    Documents and databases on economics, energy, education, health, environment, employment, patents, R&D, finance, governance, agriculture, industry, science, trade, transportation, and more, worldwide.
  • Patai’s Chemistry of Functional Groups - Major Reference Works
    An online fully searchable reference resource in chemistry from 1996-present.
  • Patai’s Chemistry of Functional Groups - Online Book Series
    An online book series in organic chemistry covering all volumes from 1964-1995.
  • Perry’s Chemical Engineers’ Handbook
    Classic reference for chemical and process engineers including coverage of fundamentals to details on computer applications and control.
  • Phase Equilibria Diagrams Online
    Retrieve over 23,000 diagrams previously published in over 21 ACerS/NIST phase equilibria diagram volumes as well as 2,500 electronic diagrams. Search and view commentaries and diagrams.
  • Pivot Funding Opportunities
    Database of profiles of researchers at leading institutions involved in basic or applied research. Contains more than 480,000 profiles submitted by researchers, scholars and other experts from around the world.
  • Pollution Abstracts
    Provides citations and abstracts to articles in air pollution, marine pollution, and waste management.
  • Project Euclid
    Mathematics and statistics books, conference proceedings and journals – resource is known for access to independent and society journals.
  • ProQuest
    Databases include Environmental, Materials, Dissertations & Theses, and News & Newspapers.
  • ProQuest Statistical Insight
    Index to thousands of statistical publications on all topics; data either online or on microfiche in Hunt Library.
  • PsycINFO (1887-present)
    Comprehensive international index with some full-text and links to CMU holdings.
  • PubMed *
    Comprises more than 20 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
  • Reaxys
    A web access to comprehensive information of organic, inorganic, and organometallic compounds, their syntheses and properties that includes Crossfire Beilstein and Gmelin databases.
  • Risk Abstracts
    Provides citations and abstracts to articles on biological and technological risks and natural hazards.
  • SAE Digital Library
    Provides detailed summaries and bibliographic data for SAE technical papers since 1906, magazine articles, books, all ground vehicle and aerospace standards, specifications, and research reports.
  • Science Citation Index Expanded. In Web of Science.
    Found in Web of Science, Science Citation Index offers a true cited reference index, a tool for the discovery and method of retrieving article citation counts.
  • ScienceDirect
    ScienceDirect is SciVerse’s leading full-text scientific database offering science, medical and technical (STM) journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and over 11,000 books.
  • Science.gov *
    Gateway to over 50 million pages of authoritative selected science information provided by U.S. government agencies, including research and development results.
  • Scientific American
    Provides access to Scientific American from its inception in 1845 through the present, including Special Issues, Supplement Issues, and Builders Edition Issues.
  • SciFinder
    Provides access to the entire Chemical Abstracts database, indexing nearly 9,500 journals from 1907-present, technical reports, books, conference proceedings, dissertations, as well as patents from 50 active patent issuing authorities around the world.
  • SciTech Connect
    Your connection to science, technology, and engineering research information from the U.S. Department of Energy.
  • Scopus
    Supports research needs in the scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields and, more recently, also in the arts and humanities. Contains both peer-reviewed research literature and quality web sources.
  • Shull Collection (Carnegie Mellon) *
    Full text archive of Clifford Glenwood Shull, winner of the 1994 Nobel Prize in Physics.
  • Simon Collection (Carnegie Mellon) *
    Full text archive of Herbert Simon, winner of the 1978 Nobel Prize in Economics. Simon earned a reputation as one of the founders of artificial intelligence.
  • SpringerLink
    SpringerLink is an integrated full text database for journals, books, protocols, eReferences, and book series for Carnegie Mellon subscribed materials.
  • SpringerMaterials
    World’s largest resource for physical & chemical data in materials science–Landolt-Börnstein database.
  • Sustainability Science Abstracts
    Explores all aspects of sustainable development, human population and demography topics, as well as societal issues involving natural resource management.
  • Synthesis Digital Library of Engineering and Computer Science
    eLectures that cover important research cutting-edge research, providing more analysis and depth than the typical journal article. Subjects range from Computer Science, Electrical & Computer Engineering, Environmental Sciences, Statistics, Biomedical Engineering, and more.
  • Toxicology Abstracts
    Provides citations and abstracts to articles on pharmaceuticals, chemicals, and contaminants in the environment.
  • TOXLINE
    Provides citations and abstracts to articles on toxicology, chemicals, pharmaceuticals, and antidotes.
  • Transportation Research Record
    A full compilation of papers from 2004 to the present, this resource contains peer-reviewed technical research papers along with papers from other sources and conferences.
  • TRID: the TRIS and ITRD database *
    TRIS Online is a public-domain bibliographic database product of the National Transportation Library. Its purpose is to enhance transportation research, safety, and operations by sharing knowledge and information.
  • Ullmann’s Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry
    Benchmark reference in chemistry and chemical and life-science engineering containing nearly 1000 major articles by experts from leading chemical companies or research institutes.
  • United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) *
    Search and view the full text contents and bibliographic information of patents. TIFF images are available for all United States patents from 1790 to the present.
  • Water Resources Abstracts
    Provides citations and abstracts to articles on water resources, water and wastewater treatment, and water pollution.
  • Web of Science
    A multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the literature of the sciences, social sciences and the arts & humanities providing indexes and links to cited references for each article.
  • Wiley Online Library
    A multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the literature of the sciences, social sciences and the arts & humanities providing indexes and links to cited references for each article.
  • World Ceramics Abstracts. See Ceramic Abstracts.