Databases open in new tab. Databases marked with an * are publicly available.
Systematic downloading of content is not allowed, including by software, e.g. website crawlers, harvesters and offline browsers.
- Academic OneFile
Scholarly and other articles in all fields.
Scholarly citations in all disciplines.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
Encyclopedias and other reference works in all subject areas.
- General OneFile
News and periodical articles both popular and scholarly.
- LexisNexis Academic
International news, law & business information.
U.S. newspapers, magazines, scholarly journals, dissertations and reports.
- Reference Shelf
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias.
- African American Studies Center
Combines Oxford University Press scholarly reference works in one online resource focusing on the lives and events shaping African American and African history and culture.
- American Doctoral Dissertations (1933 – 1955)
Includes citations to nearly 100,000 American doctoral dissertations from 1933 through 1955. See also Dissertations & Theses.
- Annual Reviews
Critical reviews in biological, medical, physical, and social sciences.
- Biography and Genealogy Master Index Index to biographical entries in diverse reference sources for 5 million people from all countries and time periods.
- Book Review Index
Index to book reviews in periodicals, links to full text.
- Britannica Online
Famed Encyclopedia Brittanica, covering all topics, with enhanced features.
- Chicago Manual of Style Online
Reference book for authors, editors, proofreaders, indexers, copywriters, designers, and publishers.
Index to scholarly journals from Latin America in all subject areas.
- Credo Reference
Biographical information and citations to literary criticism of over 120,000 American and International authors.
- Consumer Reports
Features ratings and recommendations on thousands of products and services in categories including appliances, cars, electronics and computers, home and garden, health and fitness, babies and kids, food, personal finance, and travel.
- Data-Planet Statistical Datasets
Hundreds of interdisciplinary datasets with customizable mapping, graphing, and report-generating capability. Data-Planet Statistical Ready Reference also available for basic retrieval.
- The Dictionary to American Regional English (DARE)
Digital DARE is the full panoply of American regional vocabulary represented interactively with multimedia tool that will greatly augment scholarly research in language and linguistics.
- Digital Collections Registry
Digital collections in all subjects and from institutions such as museums, libraries, and historical societies.
- Dissertations & Theses
Dissertations and theses from around the world. See also American Doctoral Dissertations (citation only) (1933 – 1955)
Various databases from Ebscohost.
- EBSCOhost ebook Collection
Searchable collection of e-books.
- Ethnic NewsWatch
Ethnic and minority magazines and newspapers, 1959-present.
- Expertise. In COS: Community of Science.
Profiles of researchers at universities and other institutions involved in basic or applied research.
- FACTS.com. See World News Digest.
Suite of 15 scholarly indexes in a variety of subject areas.
- Federal Register Library. In HeinOnline.
Access to Federal Register Collection and Code of Federal Regulations.
- Funding Opportunities. See Pivot Funding Opportunities.
- Gale Databases
Various databases from the Gale Cengage Learning Corp.
- Grant Forward
Faculty and student federal and private funding in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
- HELIOS (Carnegie Mellon) *
- Congressional papers of the late Senator H. John Heinz III of Pennsylvania.
- Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times (1881 – current minus 24 years)
Coverage of the development of the Southern California and American West.
- Historical Newspapers: New York Times (1851 – current minus 3 years)
Major U.S. newspaper, often considered the “newspaper of record.”
InCites is a customized, citation-based research evaluation tool on the Web that enables you to analyze institutional productivity and benchmark your output against peers worldwide.
- InfoTrac Web. See Gale Databases.
- IRIS: Illinois Researcher Information Service. See Grant Forward.
- Journal Citation Reports
Size, citation count and impact factor for scholarly journals in science and social science.
Articles in important academic journals; all disciplines; latest few years not available.
- Law Journal Library. In HeinOnline.
Contains more than 1,620 law and law-related periodicals.
- Marquis Who’s Who on the Web
Current and historical biographical directories.
- Merriam-Webster Unabridged
Dictionaries: English-English, Spanish-English, and Medical; Thesaurus.
- NTIS. In Engineering Village.
Describes government technical reports from the U.S. and other countries. Good for locating reports that one should be able to obtain for free from NASA, DOD, DOE, EPA and other agencies.
- OAlster *
A catalog of millions of open access (free) resources provided by universities and archives worldwide.
- OECD Library
Documents and databases on economics, energy, education, health, environment, employment, patents, R&D, finance, governance, agriculture, industry, science, trade, transportation, and more, worldwide.
- OED: Oxford English Dictionary
A guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words— past and present—from across the English-speaking world.
- Oxford Bibliographies
Scholarly guides combining the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia. CMU currently subscribes to: cinema & media studies, Islamic studies, Linguistics, Renaissance & Reformation, and Victorian literature.
- Oxford Reference Online
Over 100 language and subject dictionaries and reference works.
Index to papers presented at conferences worldwide.
- Periodicals Archive Online
Historical backfiles of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences.
- Pittsburgh Post-Gazette.
In ProQuest. Historical record of the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette newspaper.
- Pivot Funding Opportunities
Funding sources for all disciplines and academic needs.
Instant access to more than 2,000 newspapers from around the world; defaults to a view of current headlines for easy browsing.
Browsable access to the full-color print layout of more than 2,300 newspapers from around the world, including current and back issues.
- Posner Memorial Collection (Carnegie Mellon) *
Significant books on the history of science, decorative arts, and literature, collected by Mr. Henry Posner, Sr.
Index of worldwide conference proceedings.
- ProQuest Newsstand
Recent and current content of over 1200 international newspapers, mainly US and UK, including such leading papers as The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, Barron’s, The Boston Globe, The Guardian, and The Washington Post.
- ProQuest Statistical Insight
Index to thousands of statistical publications on all topics;data either online or on microfiche in Hunt Library.
- Readers Guide Retrospective
Index to the most popular general-interest periodicals in the U.S. from 1890 through 1982. Most link to full text articles.
- Research Showcase (Carnegie Mellon)
Repository of research published by Carnegie Mellon faculty.
SciVal offers quick, easy access to the research performance of 4,600 research institutions and 220 countries worldwide.
Supports research needs in the scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields and, recently, also in the arts and humanities. Contains both peer-reviewed research literature and quality web sources.
- A multitude of international statistics on populations, industries, economics, media, opinion, companies, politics, lifestyles, and many other topics – easy to use – downloadable with publication rights – reports and graphic displays available.
- Testing & Education Reference Center
College information, practice exams, career guidance and job search materials.
- Treaties and Agreements Library. In HeinOnline.
All U.S. treaties, whether currently in-force, expired, or not-yet officially published.
- U. S. Attorney General Opinions. In HeinOnline.
Official opinions of the U.S. Attorney General
- U.S. Congressional Documents. In HeinOnline.
Complete Congressional Record Bound version, as well as the daily version back to 1980.
- U.S. Federal Agency Documents, Decisions, and Appeals. In HeinOnline.
Reports, decisions, and records of the official case law of some of the most important U.S. Federal Agencies.
- U.S. Federal Legislative History Library. In HeinOnline.
Collection of documents that are produced in Congress during the enactment of a law.
- U.S. Presidential Library. In HeinOnline.
Includes such titles as Messages and Papers of the Presidents, Public Papers of the Presidents, Daily and Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents, etc.
- U.S. Statutes at Large. In HeinOnline.
Official source for the laws and resolutions passed by Congress.
- U.S. Supreme Court Library. In HeinOnline.
Official U.S. Reports bound volumes as well as preliminary prints, slip opinions, and books& periodicals related to the U.S. Supreme Court.
- United States Code. In HeinOnline.
Official consolidation and codification of all general and permanent laws of the United States that are in force as of a certain date.
- ULRICHSWEB: Global Serials Directory
Comprehensive international directory of periodicals.
- Vanderbilt Television News Archive
An extensive and complete archive of television news.
- Web of Science
A multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the literature of the sciences, social sciences and the arts & humanities providing indexes and links to cited references for each article.
- WordBanks Online
Language data based on the Collins corpora of modern written and spoken text.
Catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide.
- World Constitutions Illustrated. In HeinOnline.
The current constitution for every country in its original language format and an English translation, as well as substantial constitutional histories for many countries, etc.
- World News Digest
Summaries of world news coverage from 1940 to the present.