Humanities & Social Sciences Databases
Off-campus/Wireless Access.
Databases open in new tab. Databases marked with an * are publicly available.
- 17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers
1,000 British pamphlets, proclamations, newsbooks and newspapers. - 18th Century Collections Online. See Eighteenth Century Collections Online.
- 19th Century British Library Newspapers
Forty eight 19th century British newspapers. - 19th Century Masterfile (NCM)
Citations and some full text from 19th and early 20th century periodicals, books and government documents. - 19th Century U.S. Newspapers
500 19th century U. S. newspapers. - Academic OneFile
Full text articles covering the sciences, technology, medicine, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. - Accessible Archives
Seven 19th century African-American newspapers. - African American Newspapers. See Accessible Archives.
- African American Newspapers (1827 – 1998)
More than 270 African American newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries. - African Writers Series
Access to key works of twentieth century African writers covering such authors as Nelson Mandela, Chinua Achebe, and Buchi Emecheta. - America: History & Life
Citations with links to full text journal articles covering American history.- Search together America: History and Life + Historical Abstracts
- The American Civil War: Letters and Diaries
100,000 pages of diaries, letters and memoirs.- Cross-search in Social and Cultural History: Letters and Diaries Online
- American Journal of Science (1818-1895) (Carnegie Mellon) *
Oldest scientific journal continuously published in the U.S. - American Periodicals (1740-1940)
American magazines and journals 1740-1940. - Andrew Carnegie Collection (Carnegie Mellon/Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh) *
Collection of slides depicting Carnegie family photographs. Same content, choice of interfaces:- Andrew Carnegie Collection [diva]
- CONTENTdm Collection [AccessPA]
- Anthropological Index Online
Citations with links to anthropology full text journal articles. - AP Images
Regional, state, national and international news photographs and historical images. - Applied Science & Business Periodicals Retropective (1913-1983)
Citations with links to full text of business, industry, science and technology magazines 1913-1983. - Archive Finder (formerly ArchivesUSA)
Locate repositories of primary sources. - ArchiveGrid
Locate repositories of primary sources. - Arts & Humanities Citation Index. In Web of Science.
Index to arts and humanities journals searchable by subject or cited reference. - Berkeley Electronic Press
Journals in economics, law, business, engineering, political science. - Bibliography of Asian Studies
Guide to publications on Asia since 1971, mostly in western languages. - Black Thought and Culture
Non-fiction published works of leading African-Americans.
- Cross-search in Social and Cultural History: Letters and Diaries Online
- Bridgeman Education
Over 300,000 images of visual culture across civilizations, continents and periods. - British and Irish Women’s Letters and Diaries
Over 90,000 pages of diaries and letters.
- Cross-search in Social and Cultural History: Letters and Diaries Online
- Cambridge Journals Online
Journals from Cambridge University Press in all subject areas. - CCH Omnitax Database
Database provides comprehensive federal, state and local tax information. - Chicago Defender. See Historical Newspapers: Chicago Defender (1910-1975)
- Chicago Portage Ledger
A contemporary newsletter about the history and significance of the Chicago Portage. - Chicago Tribune. See Historical Newspapers: Chicago Tribune (1849-1987)
- Code of Federal Regulations. In HeinOnline.
Full text access to the “codification of the general and permanent rules and regulations (sometimes called administrative law) published in the Federal Register”. - Conference Board
Reports on business management and U.S. and global economics. - Congressional Universe. See ProQuest Congressional.
- Contemporary Authors. In Gale Literary Databases.
Biographical information and citations to literary criticism of over 120,000 American and international authors. - Contemporary Literary Criticism. In Gale Literary Databses.
11,000 critical essays on contemporary authors, with biographical, critical, principal works, and further study information. - CQ Global Researcher. In CQ Press Library.
In-depth coverage of global affairs from a number of international viewpoints. - CQ Press Electronic Library
Full text access to “resource for research in American government, politics, history, public policy, and current affairs”. - Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text
More than 200,000 records covering areas related to criminal justice and criminology. - Current Index to Statistics
Bibliographic index to publications in statistics, probability, and related fields. - DDRS: Declassified Documents Reference System
Formerly classified U.S. government documents on international relations since WWII. - Defining Gender, 1450-1950
15th to early 20th century primary sources on gender such as Conduct and Politeness, Domesticity and Family, the Body, etc. - Dictionary of Literary Biography. In Gale Literary Databases.
10,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of influential literary figures from all eras and genres. - Digital Collections Registry
Digitized collections from museums, libraries and historical societies. - Dissertations & Theses
Dissertations and theses from around the world, from 1861 to the present, with full text for most added since 1997. - Early Encounters in North America: Peoples, Cultures and the Environment
Narratives, diaries, journals, and letters of traders, slaves, missionaries, explorers, soldiers, native peoples, and officials. - Early English Books Online
Over 100,000 books, pamphlets and broadsides published in the English language in any country from 1475 through 1700. - EconLit
Research in economics from journals, books, proceedings, dissertations, and working papers. - Education Index Retrospective (1929-1983)
Citations with links to full text education articles 1929 – 1983. - EI Compendex. See Engineering Village.
- Eighteenth Century Collections Online
150,000 18th century books. - Empire Online (15th-20th century)
Essays and original documents relating to Empire Studies, race, class, imperialism, and colonialism, sourced from libraries and archives around the world. - Encyclopedia of Philosophy. See Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy.
- Engineering Village
Articles in engineering, communications, computer science, IT, operations research, and environmental science. - English Reports, Full Reprint (1220-1867). In HeinOnline.
More than 100,000 of the most important early English law case. - ERIC: Education Resources Information Center *
Articles and documents on education, many full text. - ERIC. In FirstSearch.
Articles and documents on education with links to CMU holdings and interlibrary loan request form. - EServer Technical Communication Library *
Index to research on technical communication. - Ethnic NewsWatch
Ethnic and minority magazine and newspaper articles, 1959-present. - Europa World
Economic, political and geographic information and statistics for every country in the world. - Expanded Academic ASAP. See Academic OneFile.
- Faculty Bulletin
Full-text digital archive of the Carnegie Institute of Technology Faculty Bulletins, 1916-1971. - Federal Register Library. In HeinOnline.
Access to Federal Register Collection and Code of Federal Regulations. - Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports
Transcripts of foreign broadcasts and news, translated into English. - Foreign Relations of the United States. In HeinOnline.
Official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity. - Frost & Sullivan
Market reports and analysis on emerging technologies in a wide range of industries. NOTE: for academic use – reports are read-only. - Gale Literary Databases
Cross search Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism, Dictionary of Literary Biography for biographical and critical information on authors and their works. - GenderWatch
Full text of publications devoted to women and gender issues, 1970-present. - HarpWeek (1857-1912)
Harper’s Weekly. - HathiTrust
Text-mine (full text search) over 10 million digitized works and create customized collections. - HeinOnline
Legal research collection database. - Heinz Archives: Heinz Electronic Library Online Systems. See HELIOS. (Carnegie Mellon) *
- HELIOS (Carnegie Mellon) *
Full text access to portions of the congressional papers from the late U.S. Senator John Heinz (R-PA). - Hispanic American Newspapers (1808 – 1980)
The single largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. Features hundreds of titles, including many published bilingually in Spanish and English.
- Historical Abstracts
Citations with links to full text journal articles covering non-U.S. history.- Search together America: History & Life + Historical Abstracts
- Historical Annual Reports (1844-present)
Printed annual reports for 800 U.S. companies, some going back to 1844. - Historical Newspapers: Chicago Defender (1910-1975)
Influential African-American newspaper 1910-1975. - Historical Newspapers: Chicago Tribune (1849-1987)
Major U. S. newspaper, known for investigative and public service journalism. 1849 – current minus 24 years. - Historical Ethnic NewsWatch. See Ethnic NewsWatch
- Historical Newspapers: New York Times (1851- current minus 3 years)
Major U.S. newspaper, often considered the “newspaper of record.” - Historical Newspapers: Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002)
Important African-American newspaper. - Historical Newspapers: Wall Street Journal (1890- current minus 17 years)
Important U.S. business newspaper. - Historical Statistics of the United States
Annual time series of quantitative historical information from earliest times to the present. - HLAS Online (Handbook of Latin American Studies)
Handbook of Latin American Studies Online. - Homeland Security Digital Library
Collection of documents related to Homeland Security from variety of sources including federal, state and local agencies. - House of Commons Parliamentary Papers 19th Century
Sessional Papers on matters of policy and administration. - ICPSR
Data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences. - ICUD: Index to Current Urban Documents
Reports and research generated by local governments, civic organizations, and academic institutions; core of collection deals with budget, architecture and planning. - INFORMS PubsOnline
Journals published by INFORMS, association for operations research and management science. - Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research. See ICPSR.
- International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS)
Bibliographic references to journal articles and to books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951. Strong international coverage. - The Jewish Newspapers Project. See Pittburgh Jewish Newspapers Project. (Carnegie Mellon) *
- Journal Citation Reports
Size, citation count and impact factor for scholarly journals in science and social science. - JSTOR
Articles in important academic journals; all disciplines; latest few years not available. - Law Journal Library. In HeinOnline.
Contains more than 1,620 law and law-related periodicals. - Legal Classics. In HeinOnline.
1,800 works from some of the greatest legal minds in history. - LexisNexis Academic
International news, law & business information. - LexisNexis Congressional. See Proquest Congressional.
- LexisNexis Statistical. See ProQuest Statistical Insight.
- Library Literature
Library and information science index. - Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)
Citations and abstracts for journals on language, discourse, computer science, psychology, etc. - Literature Resource Center
A comprehensive resource for research on literary topics, authors, and their works, covering all genres and disciplines, all time periods, and all regions of the world. - Making of the Modern World: The Goldsmiths’-Kress Library of Economic Literature, 1460-1914
Digital collection of the original literature of economics from the period 1460-1914. - Manuscript Women’s Letters and Diaries from the American Antiquarian Society
100,000 pages of the personal writings of women of the 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries. - Medieval Family Life
Provides full colour images of the original medieval manuscripts of five 15th century families. - Medieval Travel Writing
Medieval manuscripts of travelers’ accounts between the13 and 16th centuries. - Mergent Historical Annual Reports
Annual Reports for over 5,000 companies, some going back to 1925. - MIT CogNet
Brain and cognitive science books and journals from MIT. - MLA Directory of Periodicals
Detailed information on over 5,500 journals, with 4,400 currently indexed in the International Bibliography. - MLA International Bibliography
Citations to critical research of language, literature, and folkore for all periods beginning with the Middle Ages. - The Nation Archive (1865-present)
America’s oldest weekly magazine. - The National Review Archive (1955-present)
A leading journal of opinion. - The New Republic Archive (1914-present)
A leading journal of opinion. - 19th Century British Library Newspapers
48 19th century British newspapers. - 19th Century Masterfile (NCM)
Citations and some full text from 19th and early 20th century periodicals, books and government documents. - 19th Century U.S. Newspapers
500 19th century U. S. newspapers. - North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories
100,000 pages of letters and diaries, oral histories, interviews, and other personal narratives.- Cross-search in Social and Cultural History: Letters and Diaries Online
- North American Women’s Drama
Scripts of plays from colonial times to the present. - North American Women’s Letters and Diaries
150,000 pages of diaries and letters.
- Cross-search in Social and Cultural History: Letters and Diaries Online
- NUCMC: National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections
Locate repositories of primary sources. - OECD Library
Documents and databases on economics, energy, education, health, environment, employment, patents, R&D, finance, governance, agriculture, industry, science, trade, transportation, and more, worldwide. (IEA Databases not included.) - Oral Histories Online
In-depth index all major oral histories available on the web, and bibliographic records for all collections, in English, around the world. - Oxford Bibliographies
Scholarly guides combining the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia. CMU currently subscribes to: cinema & media studies, Islamic studies, Linguistics, Renaissance & Reformation, and Victorian literature. - Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
Find biographies of people who shaped the history of Britain and the British Isles. - Oxford English Dictionary (OED)
A guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words— past and present—from across the English-speaking world. - Oxford Handbook Online
A collection of online handbooks in Business & Management, Political Science, Philosophy, and Religion. - PAIS
Database on public affairs, public and social policies, international relations - PAIS International. See PAIS.
- Past Masters
Full text access to complete works of philosophers such as Aristotle and Wittgenstein, among others. - Perdita Manuscripts (1500-1700)
Find manuscripts that were written or compiled by women in the British Isles during the 16th and 17th centuries. - Philosopher’s Index
Citations and abstracts of scholarly research in fifteen fields of philosophy published in journals and books since 1940. - Pittsburgh Courier. See Historical Newspapers: Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002).
- Pittsburgh Jewish Newspapers Project (Carnegie Mellon) *
Newspapers ca. 1895-present. - PolicyFile. In ProQuest.
PolicyFile provides access to reports and information produced by prominent policy institutes, ‘think tank’ and non-governmental organizations. - Poole’s Plus: The Digital Index of the Nineteenth Century. See 19th Century Masterfile.
Citations and some full text from 19th and early 20th century periodicals, books and government documents. - Project MUSE
Current humanities and social science journals from a variety of university presses. - ProQuest Congressional Publications
Access to Congressional material and legislative histories. - ProQuest Newsstand
Recent and current content of over 1200 international newspapers, mainly US and UK, including such leading papers as The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, Barron’s, The Boston Globe, The Guardian, and The Washington Post. - ProQuest Statistical Datasets
Over 590 interdisciplinary datasets with customizable mapping, graphing, and report-generating capability. - ProQuest Statistical Insight
Index to thousands of statistical publications on all topics;data either online or on microfiche in Hunt Library. - PsycARTICLES
77 psychology journals, many from APA, full text. - PsycCRITIQUES
Reviews of psychology books, films, videos and software. - PsycINFO
Comprehensive international index with some full text and links to CMU holdings 1887-present) - Readers’ Guide Retrospective
Citations and links to full text articles from popular U. S. magazines from 1890-1982. - Roper Center for Public Opinion Archives
Archive of social sciences data. Data primarily from survey of public opinion. - Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy
This online version features more than 2000 original articles, covering various philosophical topics. - Sabin Americana, 1500-1926
Full text works about the North, Central & South America, the Arctic & Antarctica and the West Indies. - Sage Research Methods
Searchable collection of boooks, videos and articles on research methodologies in the social sciences. - SAGE Reference Online
Specialized social science encyclopedias that can be searched all together or separately - SAGE Journals Online
Social science journals in all fields. - Scopus
Supports research needs in the scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields and, recently, also in the arts and humanities. Contains both peer-reviewed research literature and quality web sources. - Selden Society Publications and the History of Early English Law. In HeinOnline.
English and American legal history dating back to 1066. - Session Laws Library. In HeinOnline.
Session laws (from inception to present) of all 50 U.S. states as well as Canada, Australia, Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands, and the D.C. Register. - 17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers
1,000 British pamphlets, proclamations, newsbooks and newspapers. - Slavery, Abolition & Social Justice
Thousands of original materials related to slavery, abolition, and social justice ranging from 1490-2007 century. - Social and Cultural History: Letters and Diaries Online
Full text letters and diaries. - Social Explorer
Historical census data and demographic information down to block group level, with maps and reports from 1790-2000. - Social Sciences Citation Index. In Web of Science.
Index to social science journals searchable by subject or cited reference. - Springer Mathematics and Statistics ebook collection
Access to mathematics and statistics ebooks. - Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy *
Freely-accessible online encyclopedia of philosophy maintained by Stanford University. - State Statutes: A Historical Archive
Historical superseded state statutes.
- Statistical Universe. See ProQuest Statistical lnsight.
- Tartan/Focus Database (Carnegie Mellon) *
Carnegie Mellon’s student newspaper (Tartan) and faculty and staff newspaper (Focus). - The Times Digital Archive
Major English language European newspaper from 1785-1985. - Travel Writing, Spectacle and World History (ca. 1800-1999)
Women’s travel accounts of the 19th and 20th centuries. - Treaties and Agreements Library. In HeinOnline.
All U.S. treaties, whether currently in-force, expired, or not-yet officially published. - Twentieth Century Advice Literature: North American Guides on Race, Gender, Sex, and the Family
Search the full text of handbooks, manuals, textbooks, etiquette guides, self-help books, instructional pamphlets, and how-to books describing American attitudes towards family dynamics, gender roles, sexual relationships, and race relations. - U. S. Attorney General Opinions. In HeinOnline.
Official opinions of the U.S. Attorney General - U.S. Congressional Documents. In HeinOnline.
Complete Congressional Record Bound version, as well as the daily version back to 1980. - U.S. Federal Agency Documents, Decisions, and Appeals. In HeinOnline.
Reports, decisions, and records of the official case law of some of the most important U.S. Federal Agencies. - U.S. Federal Legislative History Library. In HeinOnline.
Collection of documents that are produced in Congress during the enactment of a law. - U.S. Presidential Library. In HeinOnline.
Includes such titles as Messages and Papers of the Presidents, Public Papers of the Presidents, Daily and Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents, etc. - U.S. Statutes at Large. In HeinOnline.
Official source for the laws and resolutions passed by Congress. - U.S. Supreme Court Library. In HeinOnline.
Official U.S. Reports bound volumes as well as preliminary prints, slip opinions, and books& periodicals related to the U.S. Supreme Court. - United States Code. In HeinOnline.
Official consolidation and codification of all general and permanent laws of the United States that are in force as of a certain date. - Web of Science
A multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the literature of the sciences, social sciences and the arts & humanities providing indexes and links to cited references for each article. - Women & Social Movements in the United States
Documents, sources, and other material related the history of women in social movements from 1600-2000. - World Constitutions Illustrated. In HeinOnline.
The current constitution for every country in its original language format and an English translation, as well as substantial constitutional histories for many countries, etc. - World dataBank (formerly World Development Indicators)
Datasets for development indicators for 208 countries, 1960 – present. - World Newsreels Online (1929-1966)
A streaming video product which captures full runs of many of the key international newsreels produced during the early twentieth century. Newsreels are in English, French and Japanese.