Computer Science Databases
Databases open in new tab. Databases marked with an * are publicly available.
Systematic downloading of content is not allowed, including by software, e.g. website crawlers, harvesters and offline browsers.
- ACM Digital Library
Full text of journal articles, conference proceedings, and reviews published by ACM.
- ACM Guide to Computing Literature
Over 750,000 citations and abstracts of works about computing by various publishers–now merged into ACM Digital Library.
- Applied Science and Technology Abstracts
Abstracts covers core English-language scientific and technical publications.
- arXiv.org *
E-print service in the fields of physics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance and statistics.
- Association for Computing Machinery. See ACM Digital Library.
- CERT Vulnerability Notes Database. See US-Cert Vulnerability Notes Database. *
- CiteSeerX *
Free computer science citation database with some full text available. Lists the most frequently cited authors and documents in computer science, as well as impact ratings. Also provides algorithms, metadata, services, techniques, and software.
- Compendex. In Engineering Village.
The most comprehensive bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research available, covering all engineering disciplines.
- Computing Research Repository (CoRR) *
Repository of computer science papers made available through through the partnership of ACM, ArXiv e-print archive, and NCSTRL (Networked Computer Science Technical Reference Library).
- Computing Reviews
The leading review service for books and articles across all disciplines of computing.
- COS Funding Opportunities. See Pivot Funding Opportunities.
- Engineering Village
Engineering Village is the information discovery platform of choice for the engineering community. In a single interface, researchers get access to today’s most important engineering content. Search both Compendex and Inspec here.
- Envisioning Robotics (Carnegie Mellon) *
Includes select items of the Takeo Kanade Collection from the Carnegie Mellon Archives. Dr. Kanade is a world-renowned pioneer in robotics.
- Frost & Sullivan
Market reports and analysis on emerging technologies in a wide range of industries. NOTE: for academic use – reports are read-only.
- Funding Opportunities. See Pivot Funding Opportunities.
- Gartner Core Research
Research reports on technology products and services used by corporations.
- Homeland Security Digital Library
Collection of documents related to Homeland Security from variety of sources including federal, state and local agencies.
InCites is a customized, citation-based research evaluation tool on the Web that enables you to analyze institutional productivity and benchmark your output against peers worldwide.
- IEEE Xplore
Full text of all IEEE journals and conference proceedings published since 1988. Also includes all current IEEE standards. Some titles available pre-1988.
- INFORMS PubsOnLine
Journals published by INFORMS, association for operations research and management science.
- INSPEC. In Engineering Village.
Premier citation database for physics, electrical engineering, computer science, control engineering, communications, and manufacturing/production engineering. Links to full text when available. Coverage: 1886-present.
- Journal Citation Reports (JCR)
Size, citation count and impact factor for scholarly journals in science and social science. Comprehensive & unique tool for evaluating journals.
- Kanade Collection. See Envisioning Robotics. (Carnegie Mellon) *
Full text interactive reference books and information resources from some of the leading science and engineering reference handbooks, databases, and conference proceedings.
- Lecture Notes in Computer Science
Full text of conference proceedings in computer science from Springer. About 100 conferences published per year.
- Lecture Notes in Control and Information Sciences
Full text of conference proceedings in control and information science from Springer.
- Lecture Notes in Mathematics
Full text of conference proceedings in mathematics from Springer.
Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications from 1940 – present in an online database with links to full text (when available).
- MIT CogNet
Articles on industry news, product and process developments.
- National Vulnerability Database *
Comprehensive cybersecurity vulnerability database that integrates all publicly available U.S. Government vulnerability resources and provides references to industry resources.
- Newell Collection (Carnegie Mellon) *
Full text archive of Allen Newell’s pioneering work in artificial intelligence and cognitive science. Newell earned a reputation as one of the founders of artificial intelligence.
- NIST Computer Security Resource Center *
Sharing of information security tools and practices, standards and guidelines, and identifying and linking key security Web resources.
- NTIS. In Engineering Village.
Describes government technical reports from the U.S. and other countries. Good for locating reports that one should be able to obtain for free from NASA, DOD, DOE, EPA and other agencies.
- Pivot Funding Opportunities
Database of available grants, fellowships, prizes and other type of funding. Sponsors come from the public and private sector, including local, state and national governments, foundations and societies, and corporations.
A full text scientific database offering science, medical and technical (STM) journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and over 11,000 books.
- Science.gov *
Gateway to over 50 million pages of authoritative selected science information provided by U.S. government agencies, including research and development results.
- Scientific American
Provides access to Scientific American from its inception in 1845 through the present, including Special Issues, Supplement Issues, and Builders Edition Issues.
SciVal offers quick, easy access to the research performance of 4,600 research institutions and 220 countries worldwide.
Supports research needs in the scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields and, more recently, also in the arts and humanities. Contains both peer-reviewed research literature and quality web sources.
- Simon Collection (Carnegie Mellon) *
Full text archive of Herbert Simon, winner of the 1978 Nobel Prize in Economics. Simon earned a reputation as one of the founders of artificial intelligence.
- Synthesis Digital Library of Engineering and Computer Science
Lectures that cover important research cutting-edge research, providing more analysis and depth than the typical journal article. Subjects range from Computer Science, Electrical & Computer Engineering, Environmental Sciences, Statistics, Biomedical Engineering, and more.
- Traub Collection (Carnegie Mellon) *
Full text archive of Joseph F. Traub, former Head of the Carnegie Mellon Computer Science Department. In honor of Dr. Traub’s leadership role at the University’s School of Computer Science.
- United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) *
Search and view the full text contents and bibliographic information of patents. TIFF images are available for all United States patents from 1790 to the present.
- US-CERT Vulnerability Notes Database *
Information about a wide variety of Internet security vulnerabilities described in US-CERT Technical Alerts. The well-known CERT Coordination Center is located at Carnegie Mellon’s Software Engineering Institute.
- USENIX Conference Papers *
Full text access to conference papers from the USENIX Association–a community of engineers, system administrators, scientists, and technicians working on the cutting edge of computing.
- Web of Science
A multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the literature of the sciences, social sciences and the arts & humanities providing indexes and links to cited references for each article.
- Wiley Online Library
A multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities with access to articles, online books, and hundreds of reference works, laboratory protocols and databases.