Arts Databases
Off-campus/Wireless Access.
Databases open in new tab. Databases marked with an * are publicly available.
- Academic OneFile
Full text articles covering the sciences, technology, medicine, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. - AP Images
Regional, state, national and international news photographs and historical images. - African American Music Reference
Resources that chronicle the history and culture of the African American experience through music.- Cross-search Alexander Street music databases Music Online
- American Song
Streaming music from Americans of diverse origins and all walks of life, from America’s past and present.- Cross-search Alexander Street music databases Music Online
- Architecture Archives Collections Database (Carnegie Mellon) *
A searchable inventory. - Art Abstracts. See Art Full Text.
- Art Full Text
Journal articles covering the visual arts and related disciplines. Includes citations, abstracts and selected full text. - Art Index Retrospective
Journal article citations from 1929-1984, covering all aspects of art and art history. - ARTbibliographies Modern
Citations and abstracts for journal articles, exhibition catalogs, exhibition reviews, books, dissertations and essays; covers 1974 to present. - artjob
National listing of jobs, internships, fellowships and other employment opportunities in the arts. - Arts & Humanities Citation Index. In Web of Science.
Indexes the world’s leading arts and humanities journals, plus a selection of related social science journals. - ARTSEARCH
Performing arts employment and opportunities in the U.S. and Canada. - ARTstor
Over one million high-quality images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences. - Asian American Drama
Full text plays from the 19th-21st centuries with supporting material. - Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
Indexes more than 1,000 periodicals published worldwide on architecture and related fields. - Berg Fashion Library
A unique source covering all aspects of world dress and fashion throughout history. - Bibliography of the History of Art *
Citations and abstracts for European and American resources; covering 1990-2007 and 1975-1989. - Black Drama
Full text plays and supporting material. - Bridgeman Education
Over 300,000 images of visual culture across civilizations, continents and periods. - BuildingGreen Suite
Full access to BuildingGreen.com, a key source of information about green building. - CAMIO (Catalog of Museum Images Online)
Images of works of art from around the world. - Carnegie Mellon Buildings and Campus Plans *
Basic information on university structures built and unbuilt, extant and gone. - Classical Music in Video
Streaming video of classical music performances by leading orchestras, chamber music, oratorio, and solo performances, along with masterclasses and interviews with master teachers from around the world. - Classical Music Library
Streaming audio with a supplementary reference database, enabling patrons to listen while simultaneously searching and browsing the Classical reference database. Send-to-mobile functionality.- Cross-search Alexander Street music databases Music Online
- Classical Music Reference Library
Brings together essential reference materials, spanning the entire history of Western classical music.- Cross-search Alexander Street music databases Music Online
- Classical Scores Library
25,000 of the most important classical music scores and manuscripts for study and analysis.- Cross-search Alexander Street music databases Music Online
- CumInCAD (Cumulative Index of Computer Aided Architectural Design)
A cumulative index of publications. - DAAI: Design and Applied Arts Index
Annotated references from more than 450 design and craft journals. - Dance in Video
Streaming video of influential performers and companies of the 20th century.- Cross-search Alexander Street music databases Music Online
- designinform
designform consists of three linked databases: Design Abstracts Retrospective, a journal index; Design ProFILES, a biographical dictionary; and ReVIEW, digitized journals. - Gale Databases
Various databases from the Gale Cengage Learning Corp. - Grove Art Online. See Oxford Art Online.
- Grove Encyclopedia of Islamic Art and Architecture
An illustrated encyclopedia work supporting the artistic tradition of the Islamic world. - Grove Music Online. See Oxford Music Online.
Includes The New Grove Dictionary of Music & Musicians (2001), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera (1992), The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz (2002), The Oxford Companion to Music (2002) and The Oxford Dictionary of Music (2006). - Historic Costume Collection (Carnegie Mellon) *
Includes books that illustrate period costume, selected from University Libraries collections. - HLAS Online (Handbook of Latin American Studies)
Handbook of Latin American Studies Online. - IIPA: International Index to the Performing Arts
Journal article index covering theatre, dance and film from 1864 to the present. - Image Collection, CMU Libraries
A growing collection of high-quality digital images selected by and for Carnegie Mellon users. - InfoTrac Web. See Gale Databases.
- International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance
Journal articles and books with selected access to full text content relating to all aspects of performance and the theatre. - IPA Source
IPA Source is the web’s largest library of International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias and art song texts. - JSTOR
Academic journals in all subject areas, does not include latest 5 years. - LexisNexis Academic
News articles and listings from 18,000 international newspapers, journals, wire services, newsletters, blogs, case law, documents, broadcasts, and reference works. - Library Music Source
This is the online version of the CD Sheet Music and Orchestra Musician’s CD-ROM Library CD-ROMs. The music is selected from out-of-copyright standard editions from publishers such as Breitkopf and Hartel, C.F. Peters, G. Schirmer, Carl Fischer, G. Ricordi, Durand and many others. The editorial staff for CD Sheet Music has chosen the best edition available for each work. - MADCAD
Online access to International (ICC) building codes, related standards from ASHRAE, ASTM, NFPA, etc., USGBC LEED Reference Guides and Study Guides, and Wiley’s Architectural Graphic Standards. - Medici.tv
Offers filmed concerts performed by today’s greatest names in classical music, archive movies, inspiring documentaries on performers and composers, educational programs, and master classes. - Music in Print
Music currently available from U.S. and foreign publishers. - Music Index
Citations of articles about classical and popular music, musicians, and the music industry for more than 475 periodicals, as well as book reviews, obituaries, news, and selective coverage for more than 230 periodicals. Covers 1970-pesent. - Music Online
Allows cross-searching of audio, video, scores and full text reference content from all Alexander Street Press Music databases to which Carnegie Mellon subscribes.. - Musical America
The business source for the performing arts. - Naxos Music Library
Streaming recordings for genres such as Classical, Jazz, Blues, Nostalgia, World, Contemporary Instrumental, Chinese, Pop and Rock, Gospel, Spoken Word, and Relaxation. iPhone and Android apps available. - Naxos Music Library Jazz
Streaming music from the artists and collections of Fantasy Records. - North American Women’s Drama
Over 1,500 full text plays by women from colonial times to the present. - OnTheBoards.tv
Watch high-quality films of full-length performances by some of today’s most provocative artists working in dance, theater, music and other forms that defy categorization. - Opera in Video
Streaming video of performances, interviews, and documentaries that cover the full range of operatic composition, from the Baroque to the 20th century.- Cross-search Alexander Street music databases Music Online
- Oxford Art Online
An illustrated, encyclopedic work containing 45,000 articles with bibliographies, written by more than 6,800 international scholars on all aspects of the visual arts from prehistory to the present day. - Oxford Bibliographies
Scholarly guides combining the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia. CMU currently subscribes to: cinema & media studies, Islamic studies, Linguistics, Renaissance & Reformation, and Victorian literature. - Oxford Music Online
Includes The New Grove Dictionary of Music & Musicians (2001), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera (1992), The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz (2002), The Oxford Companion to Music (2002) and The Oxford Dictionary of Music (2006). - Play Index
Index to plays from 1949 to the present published individually or in collections. - Posner Memorial Collection (Carnegie Mellon) *
Includes landmark titles of the history of western science, beautifully produced books on decorative arts and fine sets of literature from the Posner Memorial Collection. - ProQuest
U.S. newspapers, magazines, scholarly journals, dissertations and reports. - RIBA British Architectural Library Catalogue Online *
The catalog of the Royal Institute of British Architects library includes both books and articles. - RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
Citations and abstracts for scholarly articles, books, commentaries, conference proceedings, dissertations, festschriften, reviews, internet resources, motion pictures, sound recordings and technical drawings of musical instruments are all covered by RILM. Concert reviews, recording notes, and pedagogical manuals are indexed if they are of scholarly interest. Covers 1967-present. - Swiss Poster Collection (Carnegie Mellon) *
Selection of posters noted for their graphic design dating from 1970 to 2010. - Theatre in Video
Streaming video of definitive theatre performances and documentaries. - Twentieth Century North American Drama
Full text plays by major and emerging playwrights. - ULI Development Case Studies
Access to more than 300 detailed case studies of completed development projects.